The Animal is Free

Everyone has a dark side

Animalistic when push comes to show

Some be a wolf, dragon, lion, panther

You might be a lunatic

You might be a hunter

You’ve never been prey

You run, try to hide, get away

Acting like prey, run for freedom

You’re running from yourself

The hunter becomes the hunted

When the darkness takes over

Run for your life, stumble and fall

Devoured by the darkness inside

Taking over, body and soul

Eyes open in a strange place

The change has occurred

The animal sniffs the air

Blood in the wind, smell of flesh

The kill is fresh, deliciously bloody

Taste the innocence which used to be

Something you will never again be

Because the animal is alive and free.

About Channah_Reynecke

College graduate with a degree in Psychology and English. I am an au pair at the moment but going to carry on with my studies this year. I love animals especially horses. During my studies I had to write a thesis and that is when I realised that I love writing even more than just poetry in general and on top of that I am a total book nerd, so I got that going for me!
This entry was posted in My Poems and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

